Diamond Guide

A guide to selecting the right diamond

If you have never done it before buying a diamond may seem like a daunting experience. It is easy to get too wound up in the science of it all and overlook the most important thing – which diamond do you like the look of the most? However it is probably one of the most important purchases you will make to make so there are some simple things to look for that will help make your decision easier.

The “Four C’s”
Diamonds are graded for quality under an international set of standards that was developed by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) in the 1940 and 1950’s. Prior to this there were a number of different systems which of course made quality comparison somewhat more complex and confusing. Some of these are still in use today however the GIA system is by far the most universally recognised and adopted system in the world and for many years has been the industry standard.

The way a diamond is graded is based on four main parameters, referred to as The Four C’s. Click on any of them below to find out more.


  • Cut
  • Colour
  • Clarity
  • Carat weight
    GIA Diamond Grading Video
    Learn about how the GIA grades diamonds.
    Note: The video may take a few moments to load.